Make Up All Of Me, Is The Way It’s Got To Be.


Sometimes you have to mess up to

Make up

All the things that you said were true.

This war paint on my face

Is the armor to my soul,

Which only comes off at night.

I’ve tried being bare

For a week no less,

But all I got was an empty chest.

This beating chamber keeps

Pumping so obediently,

Like the machine

I’ve made into me.

And all I am is a body full of lies

That seek the truth

Of this game

I’m not controlling

But playing.

Following the stars to gain the light

Of freedom.

And sometimes you have to mess up to

Make up

All the things that you said were true.

2 thoughts on “Make Up All Of Me, Is The Way It’s Got To Be.

  1. I can never wear makeup more than 2x/weekly. I am just leaving it to others to “make me up.” My friends seem to prefer my “mess ups” to their own efforts, anyway. This poem really has my head spinning with new ideas for narrative poems, Jamie!

Leave a Reply

